The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar

19 Jackson Street
Cape May, New Jersey 08204
609-884-5970

Reviews & Awards

Awards

  • 2014 Restaurants Worth Travelling For, Flipkey.com
  • Best of Cape May 2013, "Best Brunch," "Best Breakfast," "Best Happy Hour," CapeMay.com
  • Best of Cape May 2012, "Best Brunch", CapeMay.com
  • Best of Cape May 2011, "Best Brunch" and "Best Restaurant," CapeMay.com
  • Best of Cape May 2010, "Best Brunch," CapeMay.com
  • Best of the Shore 2010, South Jersey Magazine
  • Best of Cape May 2009, "Best Brunch," CapeMay.com
  • Best of Cape May 2008, "Best Brunch," CapeMay.com, September 2008
  • 25th Annual Readers' Choice, "Best Brunch" - New Jersey Monthly Magazine, August 2008
  • 23rd Annual Readers' Choice, "Best Brunch" - New Jersey Monthly Magazine, August 2006
  • 22nd Annual Readers' Choice, "Best Brunch" - New Jersey Monthly Magazine, August 2005
  • The Best of New Jersey, Voted "Best Pancakes" - New Jersey Monthly Magazine, April 2001

Media & Blog Mentions

In NJ, Mad Batter still serving up fun. Boston Globe. 2014

Beach Weekend Getaway in Cape May. Fodor's Travel. 2012

The Mad Batter Restaurant & Bar in Cape May. Down-Home South Jersey. July 17, 2012

Sunday Brunch Feelings Welcome Visitors to Cape May. Wake and Wonder. June 22, 2012

New Jersey offering hotels incentives to be more eco-friendly Press of Atlantic City. March 25, 2012

South Jersey restaurant galleries connect artists with patrons Press of Atlantic City. February 12, 2012

Baby Boomers' next step: Getting out of business. Press of Atlantic City. January 8, 2012

Band Spotlight: Blondage at Mad Batter in Cape May. Press of Atlantic City. October 26, 2011

La Vinci Productions tagged The Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar At The Carroll Villa Hotel in a video.

Cape May, NJ: Green is here to stay. Green Traveller Guides, August 19, 2011

Cape May: Not just a day at the beach. New York Resident, July 2011

Weeklong stay in Cape May, NJ. July 3, 2011

More than the beach: Cape May offers shopping food and historic sites, July 2, 2011

The Mad Batter, NBC 40, July 2, 2011

Mad Batter's been offering Cape May better breakfasts for 35 years. Cape May Star and Wave, June 8, 2011.

Cap Sur Cape May, Escapade, June 2011

Cape May Captivates, Baltimore Sun. May 12, 2011

Cape May's Mad Batter Spreads the Musical Wealth, Press of Atlantic City. May 11, 2011

Great Escape: Cape May Jazz Festival, Hellertown LowerSauconPatch. April 6, 2011

Spring Break "Semi-Staycations" in New Jersey, MommyPoppins.com

Vets Remember Battle of the Buldge. Shore News Today. December 29, 2010.

Green gingerbread a hard sell. The Press of Atlantic City. December 20, 2010.

Carroll Villa Provide Free Rooms to Veterans. Cape May County Herald. November 11, 2010.

Featured on Baristanet

Featured in BMW Magazine. Read the article

Featured in USA Today's NJ Shore Guide

Mentioned in Christina's Hearts - March 30, 2010

Featured in Cape class helps students become brewmeisters. - Press of Atlantic City, January 18, 2010.

Featured in Solar panels OK in Cape, just hide them. - Press of Atlantic City, December 20, 2009.

Mentioned in Good Deals, Great Times - Boston Globe, September 13, 2009

Mentioned in South South South South Jersey - July 15, 2009

Mentioned in What's hot at the BEACH? The Patriot News, July 2, 2009.

Featured in Batter Up: Cape May restaurant serves up fun & style - indulge, May 15, 2009.

Mentioned in Summer Getaways - Hudson Valley Magazine, May 2009

Mentioned in Cape Cuisine: Cape May has dining options abound - Celebrate Spring in Cape May County, April 19, 2009.

"Thick-sliced orange and almond French toast and award-winning buttermilk pancakes give the Mad Batter the best breakfast in this fine dining town. Art exhibits, live music, and a lively happy hour complement the cuisine. Enjoy it all from the porch overlooking Cape May’s historic Jackson Street."
US Airways Magazine
profile on South Jersey, January 2009

Featured in 114 Best Restaurants - New Jersey Monthly Magazine, July 2005

Featured in Flapjack Attack - Philadelphia Magazine, July 2001

News Flash, Cape May, NJ! The Mad Batter Strikes Again!
June 26, 2008

Chef Lisa Shriver wins Cape May Gourmet Chef Challenge
April 9, 2008

We Shore Were Hungry
May 22, 2008

BED AND BREAKFAST "GOES GREEN"
Jennifer Husko, NBC 40 - 4/11/08

Harry Kulkowitz - A Hero's Welcome in Normandy
(Originally published on CapeMay.com, July 2004)

Height of Good Taste (S)- How Cape May Became a Culinary Capital
(NY Times July - 2005)

Hammonton Gazette 1-31-07

Post your review on
TripAdvisor

Customer Reviews

My wife Jackie and I love your restaurant. We had drinks and dinner Friday night and we had a great time and thought we should write you to tell you what we think of your place. Every visit we make is always a wonderful experience. Service and Food are top notch. Drink selection is superb and priced fairly. We particularly love your martini selection and beer selection.

The way you serve beer in different type glass for almost all beers is truly unique in our eyes. The martini's served with the shaker so the drink stays cold till we're ready for it is the only way to serve a martini. Have never seen that in any other bar or restaurant.

We stay in Wildwood Crest probably four or five times a year and every time we are down the shore we visit your restaurant for either dinner or just some drinks.

Have been going to your restaurant for probably seven or eight years now and we have never had a bad experience.

We love your outside deckā€¦..I could go on and on but I won't. Bottom line is The Mad Batter is the best restaurant and bar in Cape May, probably best restaurant and bar at the Jersey Shore.

Thank you for being such a Quality restaurant.

Robert Dempsey

Hello, my girlfriends surprised me with a birthday dinner (blindfolded and all) there this past Sunday because The Mad Batter is one of my all time favorites. The food is always wonderful and the staff is always kind. It was a wonderful experience - everyone loved their food, we were given a comfortable table in the back and the table was even decorated with sea glass and candles. Beth was our waitress and she couldn't have been a nicer person. Thank you very much!

Dear Pam,

I hope all is well with you. Jose and I wanted to write you to say thank you so much for such a perfect wedding. You made planning our wedding so easy and stress free. Our day was perfect and so was our weekend in Cape May. There is no way I could have planned such a beautiful day without your help. By providing me with resources such as my photographer Alex (who btw was AWESOME) and Jerry Underwies (he was great too), and referring us to florist and DJ's this made it all so easy. We also appreciate you being our witness for our marriage license.

And for the Mad Batter, it was absolutely awesome!! The room, our food, your team, everything/everyone was perfect!!! We enjoyed our day and it was everything I have always wanted. The cottage across the street and then the night in the inn was the icing on the cake. We hope to visit each year to remember our special day.

Again, we cannot thank you enough you all your help in planning our wedding. It was truly a special day.

Erika and Jose De La Cruz

We had a most relaxing time despite the weather (sunny -- but very windy -- power challenging at times to our anticipated beach walk.) . We loved room #20 - - the privacy and - welcomed opened porch to share with passer-bys. We will return again and to enjoy breakfast and service at the tasty Mad Batter - - but anticipate dinner too when you are in season. Appreciate your intelligent service approach. We loved our short stay.

Vincent S.

Just want everyone to know that we had a great time this past weekend. We could not have asked for a nicer weekend. Even though the weather was not great your employees hospitality made it worth while. From the time we checked in until check out couldn't have asked for a better group of people. Be proud of your employees and your villa. The villa was very cozy and comfy. We enjoyed the cake decorating and ice cream as well as the wine and cheese tasting. The breakfast as well as the dinner was yummy. You always hear about the bad and I feel as if someone or everyone deserves a pat on the back tell them and that is what we are doing.

Again thanks for a great weekend,

Gloria and Ron Dawson

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially after your friendly and accommodating staff were able to move us to a more suitable room for our second night. In fact, friendliness of your staff seemed to be a hallmark of our visit -- we were greeted everywhere we went with smiles and pleasant conversation, by waitstaff, managers and housekeepers (and the owner, too). We were delighted with the breakfast offerings (see my appearance on the Channel 40 video!), and took advantage of the dinner discount for our only full-fledged dinner in Cape May, which was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone, with the caveat that they need to fully investigate the room-size issue and make sure it will work for them. Thanks again!

PS Although she doesn't seem to need it, perhaps you could suggest that the daughter-manager give herself a day off once in a while!

Jim Read

Had a Blast in Cape May! We attended one of the Looking Glass Mystery Series weekends at the Carroll Villa/Bedford Inn the weekend of April 23-25. If you like murder mysteries - you must attend a murder mystery weekend! I had never stayed in Cape May so I will start by saying the Carroll Villa was a pleasure. From the minute we walked in we were greeted with a smile. And the friendly and courteous service lasted all weekend long! Mark and Pam went out of their way to ensure the stay was the best it could be. The festivities surrounding the murder mystery were fabulous as well. The mystery was spread out over the 2 Inns and although we stayed at the Carroll Villa, we needed to follow clues to the Bedford. Archie went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and help us with our adventure. So the ultimate "who done it" was played out "hands on" - as you investigated clues; decoded cyphers and followed the leads to identify the killer. It was a blast!!! The Mad Batter Restaurant had great food and wonderful service. I highly recommend the Carroll Villa, The Bedford, The Mad Batter and a Murder Mystery Weekend for a wonderful get a away to Cape May...and beyond!

Gina and Brian Althouse, Bethlehem PA

In response to our Murder Mystery Weekends...

My husband and I had the best time!!! We found that sleeping wasn't an option - there was too much to do and too many clues to find. We also want to add that the food at the Mad Batter was really great and the staff pleasant. We would definitely do this again.

Erin C.

On behalf of the Morale Committee of Training Center Cape May, I would like to express our sincere appreciation for the Mad Batter Restaurant's generous support of the 2007 Evening Holiday Party at the Grand Hotel on December 15, 2007. You and your organization may take pride in knowing that this event was enjoyed by 180 Coast Guard active duty members, retirees, and civilian personnel stationed at Training Center Cape May and the co-located units.

Your continued commitment and interest in supporting the Coast Guard Morale, Well-Being, and Recreation program is appreciated.

Wayne Adams
Morale, Well-Being, and Recreation Director
U.S. Coast Guard

It isn't often that four ol' white-hired ladies are so well taken care of as you took care of us during our visit recently. "The Mad Batter" is becoming a favorite restaurant with us. Your "banana-chocolate chip" bread was a real treat.
Jean R.

The terrace was beautifully decorated and so private. We were blessed with perfect weather. Did you arrange that also? Everyone had a lovely, comfortable, breezy afternoon.
Donna G.

Thank you so much for setting up our dinner meeting for the Cape May County Municipal Clerk's Association. We had a wonderful dinner, and everyone enjoyed the hors d' oeuvres. The restaurant was so warm and cozy.

Your staff was very efficient and gracious and everything was served in a timely manner. Many of our members commented they would be back in the Spring.

Thank you again for setting this dinner meeting up for our group, it was very much appreciated.
Jean, County Clerk's Office

We wanted to thank the chefs for being kind enough to accommodate our daughter's dairy allergy when we stayed in Cape May last week. Over four days we ate five meals at the restaurant—two breakfasts, two lunches and a dinner—and the chefs knowledgeably accommodated our dairy-free requests and provided delicious and safe meals for our daughter. We are looking forward to dining at the Mad Batter again the next time we are in Cape May.
Mark & Nancy

When we visit Cape May it is one of my top priorities to have breakfast at the Mad Batter. Food is not the reason we travel anywhere in my family, but after our many dining experiences here I would never miss it on a trip, even when staying at a B&B where good breakfasts are usually available and free! We have been here as a couple, with our own 2 children and with extended family. Everyone has the same opinion about this great place. Whether you like a sweet breakfast, a savory breakfast or something in between, we have not found a bad thing on the menu. If you like French toast, don't miss it here!
Stamford, CT (from TripAdvisor)

Whenever we visit The Mad Batter, there is always something different going on: last Christmas season we enjoyed a "Victorian Christmas" meal, with authentic dishes served from the time period. Another time we enjoyed a DJ spinning Oldies while we ate and won rock trivia contests! And on a third memorable outing, I got to jam with a local musician performing there, who had a spare guitar! What other fine dining establish can boast that kind of funky, eclectic atmosphere??

What makes The Mad Batter so appealing is that they serve world-class food and don't make you have to dress up for it. Try it for any meal, but if you really love breakfasts, you won't find a better place in Cape May!
Macungie, PA (from TripAdvisor)

As always my wife Caryn, and two daughters, Natalie and Andrea, just had a wonderful breakfast at the Mad batter. I am also the parent who called you for a donation for Waldron Mercy Academy. I wanted to personally thank you for your gift certificate donation. It helped us raise $7,000 for our outreach programs.

Again, I thank you. You have a great place, and we always, always enjoy a wonderful breakfast. We have been coming for 25 years now, and will certainly continue.
John H.

To the Owner and Employees of the Mad Batter Restaurant, 19 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ

To all concerned:

I'm a member of the Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge whom were recently hosted by your generous owner and worked by you his employees - and I'm really thankful to still be alive and able to take break from a great group such as all of you.

My wife and I both enjoyed the chance to be at the "Mad Batter" and enjoy the fellowship with the rest of our members and their families.

This letter is only a small token of appreciation for all you folks have done to help us old timers forget the bad days and remember these good days, as provided by you folks.

May God bless you and see you over.
I remain,
Samuel S Raffa, Sr.

Mark, Pam and Staff,

Thank you so much for including us in your open house. We were so happy that we were able to make it and see the renovations to the dining room and bar. It looks absolutely fantastic. What a nice change, a winter well spent.

As always, we will continue to send our guests to the Mad Batter. We have enjoyed our meals there often and love to recommend your restaurant.

Have a great summer. Once again, thanks for including us in your open house.

Sincerely,
Patricia Schmucker
Terese Thompson
Capri Motor Lodge

Dear Mark:

Thank you so much for graciously hosting Cape May Stage's opening night reception for our production of 'Lady Day'. The food you provided was plentiful and the atmosphere perfect. Everyone in attendance seemed to thoroughly enjoy themselves. (The new bar looks great!)

Through your support, Cape May Stage can continue to provide high quality professional theatre to the residents and visitors of Cape May and we greatly appreciate your generosity.

On behalf of the Cape May Stage staff and board, we thank you again for your very generous support!

Sincerely,
Joseph Pannullo
Executive Director

Connie Felicetti
Board President

This is the 13th B&B I've visited in Cape May, though the Carroll Villa is more along the lines of a historic 'boutique' hotel. In all my visits to local inns, I've met some wonderful people and the owner of the Carroll Villa, Mark Kulkowitz, is high on that list.

He and his family, both relatives and adopted relatives (he considers his staff to be family) run a hotel/restaurant that is among the finest I've ever visited. They attended to every detail during my stay and were as friendly as could be.

The hotel itself boasts impeccably clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful views, high-end amenities like huge flat-screen TVs in the rooms, i-pod adaptors and a 5-star restaurant on the premises, plus the location is fantastic- one block to the outdoor mall and less than a block to the beach. Even so, the best thing The Carroll Villa/Mad Batter has to offer is the warm, friendly atmosphere and the feeling it provides of a home away from home.

From the moment I walked through the door, Mark treated me like I was an old friend he hadn't seen in years and he even took a few hours out of his busy schedule to sit with me at the bar of his restaurant and share stories of his experiences in Cape May. He's a solid guy who genuinely cares about his guests and loves what he does, which might be why the Carroll Villa remains the top hotel in the city over 30 years after his family purchased it.

No stay in Cape May is complete without a trip to the Mad Batter for one of their award-winning breakfasts or a dinner that will guarantee you lingering memories of the best meal you've had in a long time. I highly recommend this place!

Ben Miller

VFW Post 386 Home Association
419 Congress Street, Cape May, NJ 08204

October 2008

Dear Friend of the VFW Post 386,

On behalf of the VFW Home Association I would like to thank you for your contribution to our Annual Calm Bake Auction. Your support in helping our organization is sincerely appreciated.

Each year the Clam Bake generates revenue for the Veterans Scholarship Fund, to maintain our facility and provide any assistance that our Veterans and their families may need.

We had a particularly successful event this year due to significant community participation.

Thanks again for your generous donation to the Clam Bake Auction.

Best Wishes,
John P. Smith
President, VFW Home Association

The Mad Batter
19 Jackson St.
Cape May, NJ 08204

The Cape May Fire Department sincerely extends its thanks to you for hosting the photo exhibit of the fire hydrants as a fund raiser for our department.

It is people like you that make our work safer by allowing us to further our training programs for the members.

Again we thank you and if we can be of any service please feel free to call us.

Herbert Anger, secretary
Cape May Vol. Fire Co.

What could the Cape May County Chapter of the Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge and the Dennis Township Middle School Peer Leaders possibly have in common?

Well, for starters both active groups were honored at The Mad Batter in Cape May. This past December was the fourth time owner Mark Kulkowitz opened the doors of The Mad Batter on Jackson Street to honor the Dennis Township Peer Leaders for their community service.

The Peer Leaders were treated to a tour of the building, including the widow’s walk and the kitchen where they met the chef and placed their breakfast order. Pancakes with a side of bacon and home fries were the popular choice. Fresh squeezed orange juice washed it all down.

The Mad Batter started this tradition a few years back and our Peer Leaders look forward to the characteristic hospitality and personal service offered at the Mad Batter. So where do the Veterans of the Battle of the Bulge come in?

Well, right after the Peer Leaders finished up their breakfast, the staff started preparing for the annual luncheon honoring these American heroes. Although World War II veteran numbers are declining each year, this group of Battle of the Bulge Veterans remains active in our county. Recognizing their sacrifice and patriotism, The Mad Batter hosts this luncheon as a way of saying thank you, and gives these soldiers a venue to meet with each other in a relaxed setting.

The Peer Leaders would like to extend their gratitude to the Mad Batter. Our annual visit to the restaurant is something we look forward to each year. Thank you for recognizing this hard working group of Dennis Township Middle School students.

LISA SALIMBENE
LISA ROSELLI
Dennis Township Middle School
Peer Leadership Advisors
Dennisville

This restaurant has the atmosphere of casual dining, with a twist. There are mosaics on the wall and all around the bar area. The countertop for the bar area is made of recycled cement and glass. Some of the carpeting is made from corn. It is a very comfortable dining experience.

The food is really good. They take an ordinary type of food and make it unique. My favorite meal is always breakfast. The best part of breakfast for me is the Belgium waffle with eggs and bacon. My mom, dad and sister always try something new. My mom likes the special omelets. But, they are not only known for breakfast anymore. They have one of the best dinner menus in town.

Taylor Burkhardt

Dear Mark, Pam & Kay-

Just wanted to thank you for setting up the Tomasello wine dinner Friday night. It was a great opportunity for the winery to show some of our wines and I think it went over well.

You have an excellent chef and the food and wine pairings were perfect. Love to do it again. Keep me in mind and wishing you all the best for a slam dunk season!

-Charlie
Tomasello Winery

Hi All,

My wife and I just spent time posting the following review...

A step back in time with the ambiance of an earlier era.

One step out of our car we smelled the most delightful aroma from someone’s fireplace; the entire neighborhood embraced you with this fragrance, just incredible. There is VERY limited parking, but a convenient loading / unloading spot right out front and a free parking pass to ditch the car with. No need for a car here, this place is located between the ocean and the shops, surrounded by all the restaurants you would ever need.

Dinner here was great! Clean, and the wait staff was top notch. Cocktails after roaming the neighborhood were served in generous “beverage vessels”, very tasty too. The room (#9) was beautiful, quiet, nice size, flat screen TV, fridge, and a bathroom though small, efficiently used every square inch to the max, it was comfortable, clean, and ……. EFFICIENT.

- John & Mary

Dear Pam,

I would like to thank you for the special treatment we received at your restaurant on Thursday, June 11. If you recall, I mentioned that the Mad Batter is my favorite restaurant & that I brought a friend there to celebrate her birthday. Needless to say, it was truly special. The cake, balloon & singing were just great & meant very much to the both of us. It is the special touches like these that continue to make your restaurant one of the best, if not THE BEST! in Cape May.

Since the Mad Batter is a destination for us, needless to say we'll (my husband, friends & I) be back!

Thanks so very much.

Sincerely,
Joan B.

 

Please email your comments about the Mad Batter!